What makes young drivers so dangerous on the road is their lack of experience. The more time they put in behind the wheel, the more skilled they become at managing real-life driving situations. Unfortunately, some young drivers get experience with the wrong kind of driving. Teen drivers can form bad habits that put them at increased risk of causing crashes.
Anyone that police pull over with too much alcohol in their bloodstream will face arrest and the loss of their license under Georgia law. Minors are subject to higher levels of scrutiny regarding the level of alcohol in their bloodstreams and could have life-altering consequences, even if no one gets hurt. They could also lose their license for other kinds of driving offenses as well.
Impaired driving standards are different for younger drivers
In Georgia, a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher can lead to impaired driving charges even if someone doesn’t cause a crash. However, it is not legal for those under the age of 21 to consume alcohol, so they are subject to much stricter restrictions.
Drivers under the age of 21 are subject to a zero-tolerance law and can face charges for having.02% BAC, a quarter of the limit for adults. Any significant amount of alcohol can lead to charges, even if a driver doesn’t seem impaired at all.
The level of someone’s BAC will affect how long their suspensions last. A driver under 21 whose BAC is between .02 and .08 % or who wasn’t given a test will lose their license for six months without any access to restricted or limited driving privileges. Those under the age of 21 whose BAC is 0.8% or higher or who refused a chemical test lose their license for 12 months with no permits.
What other offenses could impact a youthful driver’s license?
Young drivers can also face license suspensions and other mandatory consequences for other driving offenses. Some of the charges that could affect a young driver’s license include:
- A hit-and-run (leaving the scene of a crash)
- Racing on public streets
- Fleeing law enforcement in a vehicle
- Reckless driving
- Improper passing on a hill
- Unlawfully passing a school bus
- Exceeding the speed limit by 24 miles an hour or more
- Aggressive driving
Drivers under the age of 21 who have more than 4 points on their license can also lose their driving privileges, which means an offense that carries more than four points can mean an instant revocation. Fighting back against such charges may be the only way to protect a young driver’s license.